What do you like about Gensan?

I have met people who both have expressed their appreciation or otherwise for General Santos City. Being from Manila/Luzon, one question that people always ask me is if I like living here. I have always answered yes. If I have to choose between living here or in Manila, I would choose to live here.

I know some people who would rather stay in Manila or elsewhere because of the seeming lack of bright future in the quick five years for Gensan. They say that businesses would not really thrive well here unless it’s for the masa. Others miss the other conveniences that Gensan does not have yet. Others simply don’t feel at home here.

If you ask me why I choose to live here, I would say that Gensan is a great place to raise a family. I have found a good school in Shalom Crest Wizard Academy for my kids and I have heard of other good schools too. Let’s not talk about college though because, right now, I honestly don’t plan to send my daughters to college in the city universities even.  I do pray our”powers” can enable us to send them to good schools in the future. One more thing is that cost of living is so affordable here. When my former employees ask my opinion when they get job offers in Manila, I ask them how much are they going to get and then I tell them if it’s enough to have a comfortable life in Manila. We have fresh fruits, fish and vegetables in the city at great prices. The pork that goes to Manila comes from Gensan so shouldn’t we be proud?

Yes, there are a couple of things in the convenience and luxury category that the city still doesn’t have. But as it is, we have an expansive choice of restaurants, spa, salon, shops, malls and the like to really have a comfortable life. Things are a lot different when I got here five years ago and believe me, things are still getting better, faster.

What do I dislike about the city? Tricycle and motorcycle drivers who don’t know how to drive properly (why do we even give them their freakin’ license?) and lack of transportation after 8pm. I have a couple more but some are private matters for the concerned people alone.

How about you? Do you like living in Gensan?

11 thoughts on “What do you like about Gensan?

  1. you are the perennial optimist 🙂

    what do i like about gensan? hhhhhmmmm… let me think…… it might take a while so i will just post it in a few hours or days hahaha

  2. i can’t help but agree. i was born and raised in gensan and my family is based there.

    gensan is for simple people. those who were not content to reside in it must have other needs and wants that its classic simplicity cannot fill.

    even here in dubai, where everything seems to be in order and everything moving forward, i still dream of coming home.

  3. hi kamille! exactly! people would really have different views about a certain city. hey, my former staff at sydney hotel are almost all in dubai. i hope you have met them. they’re very nice people.

  4. I love Gensan- it’s a wonderful place to live and to raise a family. In the future, balik kami ng family ko sa Gensan at will retire there. 🙂 I love your blog.

    Salamat,

    Anah

  5. Hi! Good day to you. My name is Evelyn. I am a call center agent here in Cebu. Well,of course I would love to live in Gensan for good! I love the simple lifestyle and if I only have the resources,I will go straight ahead..and follow the one who stole my heart who is now working there.
    I wish I could find a work…is it possible for me to find a work there? I am looking forward to hearing from you..can we be friends?
    Thanks you so much. God bless!

  6. Hi! Good day to you. My name is Evelyn. I am a call center agent here in Cebu. Well,of course I would love to live in Gensan for good! I love the simple lifestyle and if I only have the resources,I will go straight ahead..and follow the one who stole my heart who is now working there.
    I wish I could find a work…is it possible for me to find a work there? I am looking forward to hearing from you..can we be friends?
    Thanks you so much. God bless!

  7. Hi Evelyn! I do post job hirings sent to me here so you can check out some posts about it. There are no call centers here yet. They do have a few in Davao.

  8. Hi! I was just wondering.. If I drive from Gensan to Davao, how many hours will that take? Do I follow a certain highway to get there or will I actually need a navigator to go with me? This is for the reason that I might be assigned there in Gensan and once in a while during weekends, I might want to visit some friends who are based in Davao.

Leave a Reply

