Christmas quake?

Before anything else, I want to wish you a Merry Christmas! I hope you are having a blast of a Christmas day with your family or friends or even without anyone.

Well, it was a most unusual Christmas day in Gensan today. An earthquake hit Gensan somewhere around 12nn. According to IRIS Seismic Monitor, it recorded a magnitude of 6.2. I felt a strong jolt that felt like a sudden brake on a mobile car and followed by a lingering swaying that made me dizzy. I thought the oil bottle would fall on my head!

Thank God it did not cause any mishap  in my house. And I wish that it did not cause any damage to Gensan either.

8 thoughts on “Christmas quake?

  1. Hi Cathy – We felt it quite strong in Davao too, although I think maybe about a 5.0 or so, not as strong as you felt. I am not sure if you are aware, but when we lived in GenSan, there was a big quake on New Years Day 2002 – 7.2 on the Richter Scale. I thought we were going to die that morning when the quake shook us out of bed! 😆

  2. Hi Bob! Merry Christmas! Oh my! 7.2? That’s really a strong quake. I thought it would get stronger since it started out strong already. Was preparing our Christmas lunch with ground beef and basil smell on my hand, I quickly picked up Cedric from his crib. Good thing it didn’t cause any damage.

  3. Hi Cathy, Merry Christmas! I’m home now and was surprised to hear about the earthquake. Glad that everything is ok and I look forward to coming back in two weeks. See you!

  4. hi cathy,

    fortunately no casualty in this case. i heard the news too from here in Malaysia. Remembered the tsunami years ago, it happened here on Dec 26. i was on bed and got a big shake and ready to be called 🙂 as everyone rushed out of the apartments

Leave a Reply

